What happens if you are sued and have no $

Discussion in 'Discussion Group' started by michelle, Jul 19, 2010.

1. michelle

michelle Well-Known Member

I was on a jury last week and I've been wondering about this ever since.

What happens if someone sues you and they are awarded some crazy amount of money (we'll use $300,000 for this example) and you honestly don't have any money? Will they put you in jail? Make you sell anything you might own? What if you don't own anything?

I know someone on here is bound to know the answer!

2. KellBell

KellBell Well-Known Member

well, Ron Goldman's family won a gazillion dollars in the civil suit against OJ for murdering him and his ex wife....but they are still waiting on it. I know OJ had to liquidate some things for cash (according to the media) but they never got anywhere near the $$ amount awarded. Can't drain blood I reckon....

3. kdc1970

kdc1970 Guest

I have no personal experience, but I believe they have dibs on your future earnings. So as in Kell's example, any money OJ makes is supposed to go to the Goldmans until that debt is paid.

4. michelle

michelle Well-Known Member

Well that's good to know because I am pretty sure the defendant is retired so the scumbag that sued him won't get anything (I hope).

The plantiff was only rewarded a little over $2,000 but to a retired person with no income that could be a lot of money.

5. Savealot

Savealot Well-Known Member

They take your kids! they can have mine today with all the he hit me she looked at me crap!
    sorry had to say it.

6. KDsGrandma

KDsGrandma Well-Known Member

They cannot take your earnings, nor any "exempt" property if you claim your exemptions properly. They have to send you a notice of right to claim exempt property before they can execute on a judgment. http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_1C/GS_1C-1603.html