Car title question

Discussion in 'Discussion Group' started by Harvey, Jun 15, 2011.

1. Harvey

Harvey Well-Known Member

Paid off a vehicle and bank title sent to me in mail. Bank is still on title, but got the lien release letter. Is it worth the trip to the DMV to get a clean title? Mr. & Mrs. are on the title so I suppose we would have to be there together and schedules don't allow that very easily.

Advice?

2. tassy

tassy Well-Known Member

Did the bank sign & date on the front of the title that they released the lein?

3. DontCareHowYouDoItInNY

DontCareHowYouDoItInNY Well-Known Member

As long as they sent you the title and the lien has been released just hang on to it. When you sell or trade it, you will sign it on the back and the new owners will apply for a new title.

4. LovingLife10

LovingLife10 Well-Known Member

:iagree: I have lots of experience working with titles. As long as the bank signed the front of the title to release the lien, you don't have to do anything until you sell.

5. firefly69

firefly69 Guest

How long should it take to get a title?? I traded my car at a local dealership and bought the new one outright. This was 4 weeks ago. They have already sold the car I traded, so they got their title apparently. I got the registration last week, but still no title. Annoying.

Also, is it true that my dh can sign a title as long as it is notarized so I can sell/trade it? We have a truck to sell/trade and he just started a new job so he may not be able to be present and I hate to miss a good deal. TIA

6. tassy

tassy Well-Known Member

Not necessarily, there is a "dealer assignment" on the back of the title that you gave to the dealership, they take the title you gave them and sign it over to the new buyer. Then the new buyer takes that to the DMV and submits it and has to wait (just like you) for a new title in their name.