Wanted: Inexpensive Wedding Venue

Discussion in 'Discussion Group' started by Sassy_Halo, Apr 29, 2012.

1. Sassy_Halo

Sassy_Halo Member

I'm planning a small wedding in September. The guest list is 30 or less. We would like an outdoor wedding (pond, lake, rolling hills) but can't afford the $2000 most vineyards are asking (150 or more guests). Does anyone have suggestions?

2. Hatteras6

Hatteras6 Well-Known Member

Why not Yates Mill or some area parks? I've performed weddings at Fred Fletcher, YM, Lake Benson...lots of places if you think outside the box.

3. mayday

mayday Well-Known Member

Try the garner white deer facility at Benson lake --very reasonable

4. Sassy_Halo

Sassy_Halo Member

I was thinking outside the box, which is why I posted. I am relatively new to Johnston County and probably know less than a dozen people. The area is beautiful and I knew there had to be a few places where I could have a memorable and beautiful wedding. My fiancee and I both love the outdoors and prefer nature's decorations to those that are purchased. Thanks for the information and I'll look into those venues.

5. kaci

kaci Well-Known Member

My son got married at Lake Benson 2 years ago & it was absolutely beautiful & inexpensive as they come. Good luck & welcome to the area

6. peaches

peaches Well-Known Member

A friend of ours just got married at Stephenson winery. 35 people. I don't know how much it was, but I know their budget was extremely limited. Its really pretty.

7. kdc1970

kdc1970 Guest

Ohh.........check with Enoch Winery too. It's nice there as well. :cheers:

8. kdc1970

kdc1970 Guest

Really hope you didn't intend this as condescending as it came out. :?

9. Sassy_Halo

Sassy_Halo Member

Thanks for all the ideas. I checked prices at Hinnant Family Winery and a couple of others. There's a couple of places on 70 Business west of Smithfield that look promising as well. I may have to resort to knocking on doors and introducing myself..lol