headlamp bulbs

Discussion in 'Discussion Group' started by Rockyv58, Jan 29, 2016.

1. Rockyv58

Rockyv58 Well-Known Member

Stupid question. You know those really really bright headlight bulbs? What are they called? Cobalt or something like that. Why I ask is I just realized one of my bulbs on my car is dead or dying. I figure I might as replace both bulbs at the same time. I figure since I do a lot of driving at night I figure I want the brightest bulbs I can put in.

Thanks in advance.

2. Hught

Hught Well-Known Member

As a fellow driver I would appreciate it if you didn't!

3. Rockyv58

I totally understand. I hate them as a person who has to drive towards them but I drive I-40 and Cleveland school road after 11pm at night. And my 57yo eyes are just not as good as they were when I was 17. :)

BTW I know you met Laila when we were at the dump. Did you ever meet Jese?

Hught likes this.
  4. Hught

Hught Well-Known Member

I don't believe I did, but I and I assure you they, appreciate your care of these friends needing help!

Rockyv58 likes this.
  5. Wayne Stollings

Wayne Stollings Well-Known Member

Technically the "blue" replacement bulbs are not supposed to pass inspection in NC because of the brightness. The Xenon bulbs on the BMWs are special HID systems

Last edited: Jan 29, 2016
  6. jesse82nc

jesse82nc Well-Known Member

Xenon Bulbs. The very bright ones are HID of High Intensity Discharge bulbs. But you can't put those in a car that was not designed for them, or else you will blind everyone on the road. Cars that come with HIDs from the factory have projector lenses on their headlights to focus the beam properly as to not blind other drivers.

As to the color, anything above about 6000 Kelvin is actually losing light output, that would be anything in the blueish range. The most effective light output from a bulb comes in the 4800-5500K range.

Just use something like the Sylvania Ultra Star bulbs.