Contract employment help needed

Discussion in 'Jobs Network' started by wadespeed1, Mar 30, 2011.

1. wadespeed1

wadespeed1 Active Member

I'm new to the world of contract employment and would like advice on how in proceed in this arena. I received a Monster cold call yesterday with an opportunity in my field. The pay was amazingly low and the agency wanted me to sign a contract that prevented me from looking for work for the term of the contract. I found the whole process disturbing. I'm as desperate for work as they come, but I can't bring myself to sign away future earning potential.

Is this normal? I always thought exclusive agreements required higher wages. Is the market really that screwed up? Either way, I chose not to sign and will never know if I made the right decision.

PS- The agency declined my request to review the actual contract. They wouldn't start the process until I agreed to a specific wage and term.

2. ServerSnapper

ServerSnapper Well-Known Member

They can't enforce that rule because you have a right to better yourself. NC is a no fault state and they can fire you at will. Therefore can't make you not seek better opportunities.

3. wolfcub

wolfcub Well-Known Member

Actually because this state has such terrible labor laws and we are a work at will and fire at will state it is exactly why the employer can "try" and make them sign something saying they cannot look elsewhere while under contract with them. It is just the employee can choose not to sign it.

4. Ima Sheltie

Ima Sheltie Well-Known Member

You sign it, you agree to it. Once you sign they can enforce it

5. BuzzMyMonkey

BuzzMyMonkey Well-Known Member

your and idiot

6. Ima Sheltie

And you are not?

7. BuzzMyMonkey

BuzzMyMonkey Well-Known Member

naw, I wanna be SS

8. Ima Sheltie

Just what I was thunkin.

9. ServerSnapper

ServerSnapper Well-Known Member

You have to be smart to even compare to an in grown hair on my hiney...your envy shows ignorance

10. Shadow Rider