When looking for a new house....

Discussion in 'Discussion Group' started by MamaApe, Sep 5, 2006.

1. MamaApe

MamaApe Well-Known Member

Where do YOU start? What is the most important thing you look for in a home? Any "must haves" or "don't wants"?
    I am a new Real Estate Agent and I dont work with alot of other agents I can get advice from so I figured I would do my own bit of market research. Any insight on your past buying/selling experiences would be greatly appreciated!!! :D

2. JenniferK

JenniferK Well-Known Member

Personally, I think those are questions that you should ask eah of your potential clients as each of their answers are likely to be different. :)

3. MamaApe

I do ask them some of the general questions..I guess I am just wondering some of the best ways to advertise, what to advertise, and so forth. I know what I look for and where I look, but like you said everyone is different so I was hoping for some various imput.

4. ready2cmyKing

ready2cmyKing Well-Known Member

What new house? I've been in my (only) house for almost 15 years! Sorry, can't help you. :wink:

5. ncmom

ncmom Well-Known Member

One thing I did not like about the agents I've dealt with is they tend not to listen. They think handing me a bunch of msl lisitings means they are helping me. When I say I do not want to see houses above a certain price range ... I do not want to see houses above that range.

When I say I want a house with an acre or more of land ... I do not want to see houses on 1/2 acre.

When I say I want .... <get the picture>

They often act like I don't know what I want but they do. I'd rather see 3 houses with all my wants than 30 of what they think I want! SO... ask EACH client what he/she wants ... what is a must have and what they woud like but are willing to live without.