Position on SOPA

Discussion in 'PC Help Desk' started by Hught, Jan 14, 2012.

1. Hught

Hught Well-Known Member

Webmaster, I am curious on your position regarding SOPA?

2. Clif001

Clif001 Guest

3. Hught

Hught Well-Known Member

4. Hught

Hught Well-Known Member

I just saw the note from the founder of Wikapedia, told kids to get their homework done early because it is going black Wednsday.

5. Webmaster

Webmaster Administrator

It's a total bag of snakes. While I can get behind the umbrella idea of protecting the rights of copyrighted material owners, the methods being proposed through legislation open up huge opportunities for unintended consequences. I'd prefer they backed away from the edge of the SOPA cliff and let cooler heads prevail. 8)

6. Hught

Hught Well-Known Member

Pretty much my position, I think Piracy is theft (shock) but this looks like legislation by Lobiest. Folks on both sides of the aisle are against it.

7. Clif001

Clif001 Guest

I'm a programmer, so you can pretty much guess my position on piracy (the words disemboweling and castration come to mind). But, no, I don't want the government to "fix" the problem. Every time the government fixes anything it just gets worse.

But the question still remains, what are your plans for 4042 on Wednesday? Are you considering joining the voluntary black out?

8. Clif001

Clif001 Guest

Possibly, if I had a site big enough that I felt doing so could send a message (not that they'd heed it, but it would make me feel better).

If I still had ClaytonOnline, probably not. No one would notice, no one would care.

But if I had a site like 4042, I probably would. There's enough traffic here to get some to contact their reps in DC.

9. Clif001

Clif001 Guest

That is a point. Then it would depend on what's more important, your ideals or your income.

10. Clif001

Clif001 Guest

FYI

The list of websites going dark tomorrow is out and getting longer...

http://sopastrike.com/