Separation papers

Discussion in 'Discussion Group' started by silkyrabbit, Apr 9, 2007.

1. silkyrabbit

silkyrabbit Well-Known Member

no

Last edited: May 1, 2007
  2. Hatteras6

Hatteras6 Well-Known Member

Silk,

Sorry to hear that it has gotten o this point. Without recommending them, as I have never dealt with them, Rosen Law Firm does offer some online/downloadable info that can help you to begin this process. Certainly, if you are able to do more, the cost should be less.

Caution, I am not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV.

Generally, child support is determined by a formula that (in a simple model) imputes the value of income of both parties, and looks at a chart that the legislature has determined. The chart will say that at "X" dollars of income for "Y" number of children, the total child support obligation is "N". Then, the courts determine, by financial affidavits that both parties file, the "spread". If you provide 40% of the household income, and the other party provides 60%, and there are no outstanding issues, presuming that you are awarded primary residential responsibility, then you would expect to receive 60% of the figure "N"

Here's the math example: Your income =4000 dollars per yr, his equals 6 thousand. You have two children from this marriage. The state child support formula says that two children at that rate = 600 dollars per month in child support. If you have primary residential responsibility (both will have joint custody, one will usually maintain the home for the children) then you could expect to be awarded 60 % of the 600 dollars or an amount of 360 dollars per month.

A few insights...Visitation and payment or nonpayment of child support are not offsetting. If your ex is behind on C/S, you cannot legally deny him visitation, nor for the sake of your children, should you, unless other factors may come into play.